D is for Denmark… Hurrah, Hurrah!

4 Apr

IMG_1670

Lovely, pretty, flat, stylish, delicious, wet, funky as hell Denmark.

My Scandiman is Danish so we visit Denmark almost every year to catch up with family and friends.

Once I got over my inital disappointment that Denmark is as flat as a bloody pancake (Oh Scandinavia, ski holidays are part of the deal, yes I’ll go on a date with this dude… not!) I came to love this pretty country.

What Denmark lacks in mountains it certainly makes up for in style, food and homeware shops. They also make the funkiest retro-inspired children’s clothes you have ever seen, like these right here.

They also pack a pretty mean hotdog, in fact I have never seen so many variations on a dawg in my life. Hotdog kiosks are dotted everywhere and we take full advantage of them each time we go.

In fact the food in Denmark is pretty awesome full stop and no-one knows how to make smorgasbord like a Dane!

Ok, I suppose there’s a lot more to Denmark than processed meat and sexy furniture, but these really are the most important features… 😉

So forget the vikings, the little Mermaid, Kronborg, Carlsberg, Hans Christian Anderson, schnapps, the oldest flag in the world, just eat processed meat and lust over Arne Jacobsen chairs, just like me!

There you have it… Denmark on a plate, or rather stuffed inside a hotdog bun, whatever floats your boat huh!

IMG_1799

Kæmpe pølse… BIG Dawg!

IMG_1816

Krutter – THE funkiest children’s clothes shop like, ever…

Legoland lives here

Legoland lives here

Lunch... which seems to be always with beer and always with rye bread. Fab!

Lunch… which seems to be always with beer and always with rye bread. Fab!

IMG_2052

Flødebolle, balls of fluffy meringue, dipped in chocolate and decorated. Sigh…

Rødpølser - over 100 million consumed a day in Denmark!

Rødpølser – over 100 million consumed daily in Denmark!

Pretty Danish thatched cottages, they are everywhere!

Pretty Danish thatched cottages, they are everywhere!

IMG_1735

What no snow? Bloody swizz… humph!

What does D mean to you today… tell me in the comments, go on… x

13 Responses to “D is for Denmark… Hurrah, Hurrah!”

  1. balicravings April 29, 2013 at 5:36 pm #

    Reading your post reminds me of my childhood!

    A Taste of Childhood

  2. Susan Taylor April 4, 2013 at 10:05 pm #

    Hi. I stopped in from Blogging A to Z. What an interesting post. I have to confess to not having -much- any experience with Danish culture, and I loved learning more. For me, today, D is for Down syndrome.

    • losingmylemons April 5, 2013 at 10:56 am #

      Hi, thanks for dropping by and commenting! 🙂 How great is the challenge huh!

      So glad you enjoyed and I must day Denmark is a wonderful country.

      I’m popping over to check out your blog now
      x

  3. Vincent Jones April 4, 2013 at 8:38 pm #

    Denmark has no mountains??!! Ask Tom about Jan Molby!!

    • losingmylemons April 4, 2013 at 9:49 pm #

      No, no mountains at all, crap innit!

      Football… Denmark/Swansea all brothers in arms now eh!

      Come on you Swaaaaaans LOL

  4. Very Bored in Catalunya April 4, 2013 at 7:47 pm #

    Nice to see some pretty shots of Denmark after watching the last few seasons of the Killing where no-one turns on a light, not even in parliament! The thatched cottages look very chocolate boxy. It’s on my (very long) list of places I want to visit.

    • losingmylemons April 4, 2013 at 8:08 pm #

      I have to say it is beautiful, it’s especially clean too! I love Copenhagen, although I must say The Little Mermaid was pretty crap! They also drink a lot of beer there, which is pretty marvellous 🙂

      What’s the Killing, never heard of that one???

      • Ros Street April 5, 2013 at 2:33 pm #

        What’s The Killing? What’s The bloody Killing? Only the best thriller detective series every invented. However, it is in Denmark, they all speak Danish (funny that), Denmark appears to be grey, drizzly and depressing and dark always, and because it is all subtitles you have to watch it in complete silence on your own because as soon as someone distracts you, you’ve lost the plot! Sounds awful, actually is amazing. Get the box set, you’ll love it xx As an aside – about 93 countries bought the series and it was a massive hit. The Americans remade it because they couldn’t be bothered to read the subtitles and it flopped. Just saying.

      • losingmylemons April 5, 2013 at 3:16 pm #

        Ros are you shouting at me?

        LOL I can hear your voice rising with each sentence! Ok, Ok… I’m going to order it and see what all the fuss is about, Tom will love it I’m sure.

        Denmark isn’t dreary or depressing at all! It’s hip, colourful, really clean, organised and green. It’s really bloody flat though!

        Funny Ros, brilliant! LOL xxx

  5. Claire spragg April 4, 2013 at 7:09 pm #

    oh Sarah i love your photos there just pure beauty x just stunning x well today D….. force is drink!!!! yes sorry but it is ive been good all wk havent had a drop since last Friday. oh i did have two on Sunday but that was because i drove to my dads for the first time!!!!! say no more….. but i need one tonight end of xx so heres to D…Drink x

    • losingmylemons April 4, 2013 at 7:17 pm #

      Oh My God DRINK of course! What kinda fool am I?!!!!!

      Cheers darling! x LOL

  6. Pølsemanden April 4, 2013 at 7:01 pm #

    Røde pølser…..over 100 million consumed daily in Denmark 🙂 My dear we are about 5 million Danes! You do make me smile

    • losingmylemons April 4, 2013 at 7:04 pm #

      LOL… Ok slight exaggeration, but you do eat a lot! 🙂

      X

Leave a comment